IAS Web Portal
Real Estate
Personal Property
Homestead Exemption
Farm Use
Important Dates  FAQ
Levy Rates
Helpful Links
County History

Personal Property



WV Code 11-5-1 requires all persons who own taxable personal property located in West Virginia as of July 1 report this property to the Assessor's Office each year. The Assessor's Office works diligently to make inquiry of property owners each year, however,  is the legal responsibility of every property owner to report personal property to the Assessor's Office each year.
Personal property should be reported to the Assessor's Office between July 1 and October 1 of each year. Assessments received after Oct. 1 are subject to penalty in accordance with WV Code. No assessments can be accepted for the upcoming tax year after the end of January.  Assessments not received between July 1 and January 30 must be assessed as SUPPLEMENTS.

The Assessor's Office uses part-time field deputies to gather personal property assessments each summer.   This is done as a courtesy and convenience for county residents.  The field deputies conduct visits during evening hours until dusk and also on Saturdays.  If you are not home when they stop, you should find that a form has been left by the deputy.   Please complete this form and return it to the Personal Property Office as soon as possible. If a field deputy has not stopped at your residence by the end of August, please come into the Courthouse to be assessed. The Assessor's Office is open from 9 to 4  Monday through Friday, and also on Saturdays from 9 to 12. If you cannot make it into the office to get assessed, at least call us at (304) 373-2230. Remember, report to the Assessor's Office each summer the personal property you owned on July 1st. 

If you have a dog that is at least six months old, you need to obtain a County Dog Tag each year for the pet.  The cost for a County Dog Tag is currently $3.00. In addition to the County Dog Tag, if you live in Ripley or Ravenswood, you need to obtain a City Dog Tag. The cost for a City Dog Tag is currently $1.00 for a male dog or a spayed female, and $2.00 for an unspayed female. If you have a licensed dog kennel, you will need to obtain a Kennel License each year. If you have any questions, please call the Assessor's Office at (304) 373-2230

Assessor's Notice

The West Virginia Legislature enacted a new law, WV Code 7-7-6e , in an effort to expand the Coyote Control Program statewide.  This new section of state code imposes a fee of $1.00 (one dollar) per head on all breeding age sheep and goats as of July 1 of each year.  The money collected from this new fee is to be sent to the WV Commissioner of Agriculture to enter into a cooperative service agreement with the US Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) and Wildlife Services (WS) to expand the Coyote Control Program throughout West Virginia.

Our personal property records indicate that you have reported owning sheep and/or goats in the past few years.  If you are still a sheep or goat owner this July 1, please contact this office in order that we may discuss this new head tax with you and answer any questions that you may have.  The phone number for the personal property office (304) 373-2230. 

All collections and receipts will be made here at the office or by mail.  The County Dog Tax (brass tag) and City Dog Tax (aluminum tag), is not affected by this new sheep and goat tax.  Please pay your dog tax as usual.

Any person who does not pay this new head tax is not eligible for the services provided by the State and Federal cooperative agreement for the control of coyote predation.